Announcing WildFly Swarm 2017.7.0

WildFly Swarm 2017.7.0

In 1405 Chinese fleet commander Zheng He set sail to explore the world for the first time!

2017.7.0 is your chance to explore WildFly Swarm for the first time, or explore it anew with fresh eyes!

What’s New?

  • YAML, YAML, and more YAML!

  • Temp File location

  • Component upgrades

  • Gradle updates

YAML, YAML, and more YAML!

Bob McWhirter was feverishly improving all things YAML for this release!

It’s now possible with YAML to:

  • Configure socket-binding-groups and socket-bindings.

  • Configure network interfaces

  • Advertise a microservice to Ribbon

Along with fixing some issues with YAML processing for JASPIC modules, and improving how configuration handles defaults across a group of configuration items.

Temp File location

WildFly Swarm explodes your uber jar into the temp directory at startup so that all classes are available on the classpath. Previously those files ended up in whatever temp file location was specified by or whatever the JVM chose.

That’s fine most of the time, but if you have extremely long running processes, which is the point of microservices, you want to be able to clean up any unimportant temp files from storage to keep a running system healthy! Unfortunately, until now that also meant removing the files WildFly Swarm needed from under it.

With this release you can set to be a more permanent temp directory for all jars and classes extracted by WildFly Swarm. Ensuring that you or your operating system won’t unintentionally remove them when a process is using them.

Component upgrades

Keycloak was updated to 2.5.5.Final and Teiid to 9.3.0.Final.

Gradle updates

Thanks to Michael Fraefel we’ve seen some improvements in our Gradle support.

When using gradle run resources are now included in the default WAR deployment that WildFly Swarm generates.


Release notes for 2017.7.0 are available here.


  • [SWARM-1433] YAML method for configuring socket-binding-groups and socket-bindings. (Done)

  • [SWARM-1430] YAML method for configuring network interfaces. (Done)

  • [SWARM-1425] Allow ribbon fraction to be configurable in terms of advertised name (Done)

  • [SWARM-1424] Some fractions need all-or-nothing defaults (Done)

  • [SWARM-1423] Maintain order of configurables when applying configuration (Done)

  • [SWARM-1421] For fractions with attributes and subresources of the same name, prefer the attributes. (Done)

  • [SWARM-1418] Remove msc module.xml and version management (Done)

  • [SWARM-1412] Upgrade keycloak to 2.5.5.Final (Done)

  • [SWARM-1410] Update teiid version in teiid-config-api (Done)

  • [SWARM-1374] Fix Weld version mismatch (Done)

  • [SWARM-1327] investigate tests that are creating temporary files and not deleting them (Done)


  • [SWARM-1432] With "gradle run", the resource are not included in the deployment (Done)

  • [SWARM-1429] User project dependency error with (classmate) (Done)

  • [SWARM-1417] JaxrsClientTest fails when custom Maven repos are required for build (Done)

  • [SWARM-1409] Hystrix fraction is missing dependency on com.fasterxml.jackson.core.jackson-core (Done)

  • [SWARM-1407] JASPIC Module order in YAML not respected (Done)

  • [SWARM-1391] Circuit breaker booster breaks with recent master (prep for update 2017.6.1) (Done)


  • [SWARM-1426] Unable to set location of ws deployment in ws plugin (Done)

  • [SWARM-1419] Unable to Set Temp File Location (Done)

  • [SWARM-1237] should the config system also support Swarm’s custom extensions to the Config API? (Done)

Feature Request

  • [SWARM-1416] Support older standalone.xml schema versions (v2) (Done)

  • [SWARM-1415] Add support for the deployment scanner subsystem (Done)


Per usual, we tend to hang out on in #wildfly-swarm.

All bug and feature-tracking is kept in JIRA.

Documentation for this release is available:

Thank you, Contributors!

We appreciate all of our contributors since the last release:


  • Heiko Braun

  • Ken Finnigan

  • Michael Fraefel

  • Juan G

  • Martin Kouba

  • Bob McWhirter

  • Juraci Paixão Kröhling

  • Michal Szynkiewicz

  • Ladislav Thon


  • Heiko Braun

  • Michael Fraefel

  • Bob McWhirter

  • Juraci Paixão Kröhling