Announcing WildFly Swarm 2016.10.0

It’s October, so that means it’s time for candy corn. And a WildFly Swarm release!

October, which comes from the Latin of "octo" meaning 8, is obviously the 10th month. We can thank Julius and Augustus Caesar (July and August, respectively) for giving us a persistent off-by-two error in how we count months.

Nonetheless, it’s time for another WildFly Swarm release. Enjoy!

What’s New?

  • External ActiveMQ/Artemis broker configuration is simplified.

  • Better SAAJ support.

  • Arquillian supporting Maven profiles.

  • Service/Topology advertisements via API and annotations.

  • Jolokia upgrade and support for jolokia-access.xml

  • Much much more!

What is WildFly Swarm?

WildFly Swarm is the decomposition and reconstitution of the popular WildFly Java Application Server in order to support just enough appserver for microservice type applications.

Each portion of the appserver is referred to as a fraction, which many times maps to a subsystem from WildFly, but also may include other discrete chunks of non-Java EE or WIldFly functionality, such as Swagger, Jolokia or NetflixOSS Ribbon.


There are quite a few bugs fixed in this release since 2016.9. Check out the full list of them below in the changelog.


Release notes for 2016.10 are available here.


  • [SWARM-742] default initial logging format is different from default logging subsystem format

  • [SWARM-710] ContextNotActiveException - No active contexts for scope type javax.inject.Singleton on shutdown

  • [SWARM-705] Sporadic build failure on wildfly-swarm-plugin package : Unable to create -swarm.jar

  • [SWARM-700] "swarm.port.offset" not working

  • [SWARM-697] StackOverflowError during gradle artifactresolving

  • [SWARM-696] Transitive dependencies in multi module setups bring back fractions deps WEB-INF/lib

  • [SWARM-695] Bootstrap fails due to empty default deployment

  • [SWARM-690] FractionList brings wrong fraction information when a fraction is declared as a dependency of other fraction

  • [SWARM-684] Add a shutdownHook to stop the RuntimeServer upon ctrl-c

  • [SWARM-681] health endpoints are available on their original paths, but only if they are not secured

  • [SWARM-667] Arquillian container fails to find dependencies in active Maven Profile

  • [SWARM-662] NPE when calling addAllDependencies()

  • [SWARM-652] management console not running in uberjar

  • [SWARM-637] Web service InvocationTargetException when using a custom

  • [SWARM-592] The Wildfly Swarm arquillian framework does not use proxy when resolving artifac

  • [SWARM-582] org.jboss.modules.ModuleNotFoundException:

  • [SWARM-558] WAR deployment containing CDI beans fails to deploy

  • [SWARM-543] Cannot send JMS message to external ActiveMQ server when configured via ironjacamar


  • [SWARM-737] Use 204 instead of 503 if no healthchecks are defined

  • [SWARM-674] Review of this class "org.wildfly.swarm.container.ProjectStagesTest" which is commented

  • [SWARM-668] Remove leftovers from pre-CDI internals

  • [SWARM-666] Support @Inject @ConfigurationValue Optional<VALUE>

  • [SWARM-234] JGroups naming needs to be improved


  • [SWARM-735] Remove Spring Boot from examples

  • [SWARM-728] throws exception

  • [SWARM-703] Add meaningful descriptions for the Camel fractions


  • [SWARM-721] Expose capability to set socket-bindings & outbound-socket-bindings

  • [SWARM-664] Provide API for jolokia-access.xml

Component Upgrade

Feature Request

  • [SWARM-576] Create JPA example using Transaction fraction

  • [SWARM-438] Support topology service advertisement via code

  • [SWARM-437] Support topology service advertisement via annotation(s)


  • [SWARM-123] Provide more configuration for Jolokia


Per usual, we tend to hang out on in #wildfly-swarm.

All bug and feature-tracking is kept in JIRA.

Documentation for this release is available.

Thank you, Contributors!

We appreciate all of our contributors since the last release:


  • emag

  • Heiko Braun

  • Ken Finnigan

  • George Gastaldi

  • Andy Gumbrecht

  • Marco Hofstetter

  • Claus Ibsen

  • Slobodan Lazarevski

  • Bob McWhirter

  • Charles Moulliard

  • Ladislav Thon


  • John Ament

  • Ken Finnigan

  • Slobodan Lazarevski

  • Bob McWhirter

  • Allon Murienik

  • Rafael Pereira

  • Antoine Sabot-Durand